O Cathail Elected as Chair

Leylandiistan & Gurvata’s Fionnbarra O Cathail has been elected as the 24th Chair of the Grand Unified Micronational, beating Mcarthia’s Kit McCarthy by ten votes.

Mr O Cathail received eleven votes in total.

He said this on election:

 It is difficult to describe adequately how I feel by the vote which has just concluded. Honoured, humbled and elated only go so far. I did not expect to receive an endorsement as large and as overwhelming as the one which you have offered me. It occurred to me how far Leylandiistan & Gurvata has come, and how long I have taken part in micronationalism. I am reminded especially of my first Quorum, in January 2014. Since then, it has always been a pleasure to take part in the Grand Unified Micronational.

I must admit that I do not have any major initiatives or projects to put forward, indeed, it was difficult to make such pledges as I was campaigning. This is because we are starting afresh with the GUM, with a good number of nations which have seceded since the organisation went into dormancy. Over the next few weeks, it is you, the delegates, not I, who shall determine the future direction of the GUM. You have entrusted me to provide leadership in order to implement any initiatives approved by Quorum. I, in turn, trust you all to put forward innovative, creative ideas for us all to work together on.

As Chair, I will do my utmost to be consistent. I will never shy away from offering my opinion. I will, as promised, work to implement all initiatives approved by the Quorum before the end of my term. I want to be held accountable to the Quorum, therefore beginning with the next session I will allow for a brief Q&A session at the beginning of each Quorum. A wide variety of nations supported my bid to become Chair, and in turn I will treat all delegations with the same high level of respect. We must continue to work to bridge the divide between younger and older nations which grew before the return to activity of our organisation.

I would finally like to thank Mr. McCarthy of Mcarthia for being a very worthy opponent. He has done the organisation a service to date in helping revitalise the organisation, and in acting as Press Secretary. I am sure he will continue to be full of ideas, and will be one of the most active delegates in the term ahead.

Thank you all!

O Cathail replaced previous Chair Jonathan Augustus, and will serve for six months. The GUM has widely welcomed his victory. Jonathan Augustus became Vice-Chair.

He pledged to be held accountable, and will have brief Q&A sessions at the start of each session of Quorum.


VOTING IN FULL

For Fionnbarra O Cathail;

Whestcorea

Zenrax

Adammia

Lundenwic

DRCC

Überstadt

Paravia

Austenasia

Koss

Lundenwic

Beacon City

For Kit McCarthy:

Noland


3 thoughts on “O Cathail Elected as Chair

Leave a Reply

